Building presence takes practice, openness, but also discussion on how to be present in the first place.

The Need for More Presence

D G McCullough
3 min readJul 7, 2023

--

I’ve been podcasting about 20 months now with my first podcast, the Sage Sayers, on its third season and 11 episodes. I just love the practice. Podcasting has brought me joy by connecting me with upbeat guests. I feel lighter and clearer on all I’m learning about communications challenges from coaching at scale and with clients all over the world. And yet as I coach, the topic of coaching and how to stay present when I coach keeps coming up. Many find I’m present with them (which feels great. That’s the goal!) But they wonder, how?

It’s an interesting question and one I’m not fully sure about. Some days I feel I’ll never get present with all I’ve got going on. But in most sessions, I do. (And ones where I feel I don’t maintain presence, the feeling’s fleeting once I fully center on the person I coach.) With more leaders also wanting to show they’re present with their teams, a trait many find attractive, I’m convinced: We’ve room for one more podcast.

Why Competency №5 ?

I’m calling my new podcast Competency №5, which I just launched today, after the fifth of the International Coaching Federation’s seven competencies. Competency No5, maintaining presence challenges me and other coaches because it takes time, skills, courage, and much patience and practice. The title (which I’ve trademarked) also fits because I’m applying this year to become a Master Certified Coach with the International Coaching Federation, the highest accreditation the international non-profit offers, and one reserved for around two thousand coaches globally, at least when I last checked with the ICF — around 4% of the 50,000 or so certified coaches globally.

This stated goal becomes a mighty feat given I failed my first attempt to become PCC-certified (for being too bossy and leading). Also, I only entered the field of coaching three years ago having never received formal coaching in my life.

What Competency №5 Brings

Here’s what I hope podcast Competency №5, will bring you, my listeners:

  • Insights, tips, and tactics on how to maintain presence, specifically, how to ground, get peaceful, and stay present with others in ways where they gain clarity and feel truly heard
  • Insights into active listening and other coaching tactics like noticing, bottom lining, and connecting ideas, which occurs naturally, once we find that presence
  • Interviews with those whose very livelihood depends upon them being present with others — from coaches, to healers, to pastors and preachers, first responders, surgeons, to actors. Some sessions may include live coaching.
  • Chronicles from my attempts to reach the highest accreditation the ICF bestows upon coaches, including mentoring sessions with an MCC coach, who’ll help take my coaching (and presence) to new levels.

So listen in to my next podcast. I truly welcome you! And if anyone you know feels curious about a career in coaching or training to become a coach, or anyone wanting to quieten their busy mind, do send them our way.

Debbi Gardiner McCullough coaches and trains immigrant leaders to become more confident, concise, and mentally fit communicators. From Wisconsin, she owns and runs Hanging Rock Coaching and coaches worldwide with BetterUp.

--

--

D G McCullough

New Zealander D G McCullough has written on social trends for the Guardian, the Economist, and the FT. She’s a narrative and communications coach.